The Sacconi Quartet record the string quartets of British composer Graham Fitkin,

The Composer writes in the introduction to this disc:

“ The string quartet medium seems to me to thrive in contexts of both poignant intimacy or extrovert forceful information overload. (And indeed all those delicate shades in between.) I feel it has a strength of purpose that I relish, an honest homogeneity to it, a good wide pitch range and quite frankly the ability to play decent long sustained notes or short pizzicati. It’s been all too tempting.”

Composed between 1992 and 2007, this disc compiles Fitkin’s complete works for String Quartet, performed by one of the UK’s most dynamic and versatile string quartets.

The Sacconi Quartet, for whom the medium-length String was composed, play throughout with élan and what sounds like a complete understanding of the ebb and flow of each of these quite diverse pieces… A terrific disc that I encourage everyone to buy – Gramophone

All weaved with his trademark rhythmic complexity – Northern Echo

 iTUNES  Spotify

Sacconi Quartet

RELEASE DATE: 01/12/2017


BARCODE: 635212051825

1. Servant

2. Inside

3. A Small Quartet

4. Another Small Quartet

5. String

6. Pawn

You may also like…

Go to Top