Glazunov, Prokofiev & Tchaikovsky


Star British cellist Jamie Walton returns to disc on Signum with a programme Russian repertoire by composers Glazunov, Prokofiev and Tchaikovsky. Joined by the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra under Okko Kamu, the disc includes the original version of Tchaikovsky’s Variations on a Rococo Theme.

Jamie Walton’s outstanding programme of Russian classics captures the music’s soaring lyricism with impassioned eloquence and interpretative flair – The Strad

Walton embraces Glazunov’s tenderness with the warmth and suppleness of his tone…Walton interprets [the Prokofiev] with impressive, seamless sweeps and refined dynamic shading – The Daily Telegraph

Seamless lyricism and glorious tone – Gramophone

[Walton] delivers a particularly eloquent and virtuosic account of the work – BBC Music Magazine

 iTUNES  Spotify

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Okka Kamu conductor

Jamie Walton cello 

RELEASE DATE: 29/06/2015
BARCODE: 635212040720

1. Concerto Ballata, Op. 108 Alexander Glazunov

2. Chant du menestrel, Op. 71 Alexander Glazunov

3. Melodie, Op. 20, No. 1 Alexander Glazunov 

Concertino, Op. 132

Sergei Prokofiev

4. I. Andante mosso

5. II. Andante

6. III. Andante

7. Nocturne, Op. 19, No. 4 Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky 

Variations on a Rococo Theme, Op. 33

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky 

8. Moderato assai quasi andante

9. Theme

10. Variation I

11. Variation II

12. Variation III

13. Variation IV

14. Variation V

15. Variation VI

16. Variation VII

17. Variation VIII

You may also like…

Go to Top