Dvorak’s Symphony No.8 is a symphony that marks Dvorak’s first proper venture into the profusion of ideas and effects that, after the Ninth Symphony, became his home ground as a composer.

Symphony No.9, ‘From the New World’, received a rapturous reception at its Carnegie Hall premiere, a reception, which has been repeated thousands of times across the globe. Enjoy an extraordinary performance of two of Dvorak’s best known symphonies, beautifully performed by Japan’s leading symphony orchestra.

The Sapporo Symphony Orchestra is based in the Sapporo Concert Hall “Kitara” which boasts some of the finest acoustics in the world. The orchestra is distinguished by its clear sound and dynamic powers of expression, and has received glowing accolades from around the world.

The lovely passage (tr 2, 3’00”) where the woodwind melody is accompanied by delicate descending scales on the strings is exquisitely done … The finale is then measured and clean-cut with dramatically extreme dynamic contrasts … the Largo with its haunting cor anglais melody is refined, with exceptionally clean textures … Clarity of texture is again an outstanding quality of the last two movements … Altogether an excellent disc, generously filled – Gramophone


Sapporo Symphony Orchestra
Tadaaki Otaka conductor

RELEASE DATE: 01/11/2007
BARCODE: 635212011027

Symphony No.8

1. Allegro con brio

2. Adagio

3. Allegretto grazioso – Molto vivace

4. Allegro, ma non troppo

Symphony No.9

5. Adagio – Allegro Molto

6. Largo

7. Scherzo (Molto Vivace)

8. Allegro con fuoco

You may also like…

Go to Top