David Bednall: Welcome All Wonders


Welcome all Wonders: A Christmas Cantata is a large-scale work for choir, organ, and trumpet spanning 15 movements. It celebrates the Christmas story through an imaginative selection and juxtaposition of poetry and liturgical texts, and provides a multifaceted telling of the familiar narrative. The celebratory aspects of Christmas are tainted by darker themes that are inherent to the story but are easily overlooked, culminating in an enlightened and engaging work that explores the Christmas story in a profound manner.

The Choir of The Queen’s College, Oxford is among the finest and most active university choirs in the UK. Its wide-ranging repertory includes a rich array of Renaissance and Baroque music and contemporary works.

An excellent disc: the singing is incredibly tight, in the manner to which it has become increasingly accustomed under its musical director, Owen Rees, and Bednall’s writing is ingenious, embedded in a profound understanding of the workings of the choir and organ- both as distinct entries and as a partnership – Gramophone Magazine

Bednall’s work makes a bright, immediate impression, the idiom, accessible without being superficial – BBC Music Magazine

An original and very rewarding addition to the Christmas choral repertoire – MusicWeb International

Bednall is honoured with what is surely a splendid performance from the Choir of Queen’s College, Oxford with organists Olivia Clark and Paul Manley and trumpeter Simon Desbruslais, directed by Owen Rees – International Record Review

 iTUNES  Spotify

Choir of The Queen’s College, Oxford

Olivia Clarke, Paul Manley organ 

Simon Desbruslais trumpet

Owen Rees director

RELEASE DATE: 29/09/2013
BARCODE: 635212033524

1. Prelude

2. Alleluia

3. A virgin shall conceive

4. Ye heavens! From high the dewy nectar pour

5. Today is the beginning of our salvation

6. Oh! little blades of grass

7. Journey to Bethlehem

8. I saw a stable

9. Shepherds, rejoice!

10. See how from far, upon the eastern road

11. Tribus miraculus ornatum

12. The Slaughter of the Innocents

13. But peaceful was the night

14. Ave maris stella

15. In the beginning

You may also like…

Go to Top