The Smith Quartet return on Signum with a new album of commissions and world premiere recordings, all centered on the theme of ‘Dance’. The featured programme is a veritable ‘whos-who’ of contemporary composition, including works from Michael Nyman, Graham Fitkin, Jon Lord, Michael Finnissy and Django Bates.

 ★★★★★ Infectious enthusiasm and spirited playing – Classic FM Magazine

An exuberant collection of 14 short pieces, each by a different composer. All are played with vim and technical brilliance – The Times

Editor’s Choice: A diverse collection of 14 works is bound together by quality of composition and performance … like a box of excellent chocolates, inviting frequent tasting – Classical Music Magazine

 iTUNES  Spotify

The Smith Quartet

RELEASE DATE: 31/01/2011
BARCODE: 635212023624

1. Dancing in the Spirit Tunde Jegede 

2. Folk Music (Daithi’s Dumka) Joe Cutler 

3. Pavane: She’s so fine John Adams

4. Informal Dance Graham Fitkin

5. Definitely Disco Andrew Poppy 

6. Minuet Michael Finnissy

7. Black Dance Tan Dun

8. First Dance Kevin Volans

9. Tango Michael Nyman

10. Zarabanda Solitaria Jon Lord

11. Bogle Move Gabriel Prokofiev 

12. Naive Waltz Elena Kats-Chernin

13. STAMP (to avoid erotic thoughts) Donnacha Dennehy

14. Peculiar Terms of Physical Intimacy Django Bates

Go to Top