Dance of the Three Legged Elephants


Dazzling yet intimte, this set of tracks is the work of two brilliant and internationally renowned musicians who are also close friends, and their friendship pours from the music with passion, intensity, humour and inspiring energy. The central focus here is ‘collaboration’ – the musical collaboration of Barley and Joseph and the traditions from which they have individually evolved, and their combined collaboration with other composers in a series of imaginative arrangements.

Barley’s execution and quality of invention are exceptional – Jazzwise Magazine

The recording beguiles and overwhelms alternately – sometimes simultaneously – MusicWeb International

★★★★★ This set of originals, improvisations and takes on pieces by everyone from Jobim to Ravel are informed, inventive and defy all predictions as to what’s coming next – BBC Music Magazine


 iTUNES  Spotify

Matthew Barley
Julian Joseph

RELEASE DATE: 24/08/2009
BARCODE: 635212017128

1. Improvisation #7 Barley/ Joseph

2. (Used to be a) Cha Cha Jaco Pastorius

3. Improvisation #3 Barley/ Joseph

4. Castellain Sunshine Julian Joseph

5. Sabia Antonio Carlos Jobim 

6. Dance of the Three Legged Elephants Julian Joseph

7. Piece en Forme de Habanera Maurice Ravel 

8. Miles Beyond Miles Beyond 

9. Vika Julian Joseph 

10. Improvisation #2 Barley/ Joseph 

You may also like…

Go to Top