Constant Filter


An exciting new collaboration between the rising British composer John Metcalfe and the internationally renowned cellist Matthew Barley. The project is summed up well by Barley’s description of the music:

“Metcalfe’s music fascinates me: it intelligently fuses acoustic and electronic soundworlds; it develops its themes with economic clarity; and – the main attraction – it speaks to the heart without ignoring the head. It can make me cry, laugh or dance, and that is what new music should be doing. I can hear the traditions of classical music, as well as contemporary rhythms and haunting synthesisers from the world of electronica. This is art that can speak to everyone about love and freedom, fear and yearning, and the deep mysterious joy of music.”  Matthew Barley

★ Using computerised octave-splitters and delay units, Barley achieves a surprising depth of sound and harmonic richness, particularly on the title-track, where echoing wisps of electronic sound flutter around the cello like butterflies – The Independent

Barley’s booklet note explains how he decided it was time that he made a recording at home, and gives some idea of the steepness of the learning curve he faced. He seems to have made the ascent with ease: you’d never know it wasn’t the product of some glitzy studio. His playing, of course, is just as accomplished – International Record Review

Metcalfe has achieved the unusual feat of creating electronic music that sounds organic and heartfelt, and in Barley he has a hugely persuasive advocate – The Strad

 iTUNES  Spotify

Matthew Barley cello and electronics

RELEASE DATE: 26/04/2010
BARCODE: 635212020722

Tracing The Outline

1. Movement 1

2. Movement 2

3. Movement 3

4. Movement 4

5. Movement 5

6. Movement 6

7. Constant Filter


8. Appear

9. Land

10. Centre

11. Tree

12. Parsal

13. Lonely Bay 

14. As She Fell 

15. The Appearance of Colour

You may also like…