Codebreaker & Ode to a Nightingale


Hertfordshire Chorus continue to build on their reputation for commissioning and performing some of the very best in contemporary choral music. In their first recording with Signum they are joined by the BBC Concert Orchestra for a 2CD set featuring James McCarthy’s Codebreaker (an exploration of the life of the pioneering computer scientist and mathematician Alan Turing) and Will Todd’s Ode to a Nightingale (setting the famous poem by John Keats).

The BBC Concert Orchestra offer superb support to both composers and the engineering is up to Signum’s customary excellence. This important release should be in every keen choral singer’s Christmas stocking – Gramophone

Splendidly recorded and performed… I give a thorough recommendation to this issue – Music Web International

For me, this is undoubtedly the choral album of the year – The High Arts

 iTUNES  Spotify

Hertfordshire Chorus
BBC Concert Orchestra
Julia Doyle soprano
David Temple conductor

RELEASE DATE: 06/10/2017


BARCODE: 635212049525



1. Opening

2. Wondrous Light

3. Gordon Brown’s Apology

4. Song of Songs

5. Deep is the Night

6. Enough

7. I shall meet him again

8. Outbreak of War

9. At Sea

10. De Profundis

11. A Mother’s Lament

12. If Death is Kind


Ode to a Nightingale

1. Introduction

2. My Heart Aches

3. O for a draught of vintage

4. Fade far away

5. Away! Away!

6. I cannot see

7. Darkling I listen

8. Thou wast not born for death

9. Folorn!

You may also like…

Go to Top