Choral Music


A true master and exponent of the British choral music tradition, Herbert Howells’ compositions and settings are brought to life in this collection of his secular and sacred works. Performances come from the youthful talents of The Rodlofus Choir, led by their director Ralph Allwood.

The Rodolfus Choir is made up of singers aged from 16 to 25 who have been chosen from past and present members of Eton College’s summer choral courses for prospective choral scholars. Many members of the choir are choral scholars, some are at music college, and most hope to make a career in music. Ralph Allwood founded the choir in 1984, and has been Precentor and Director of Music at Eton since 1985.

Recording ★★★★★ Performance ★★★★★ Put simply, this disc has quality stamped all over it – BBC Music

★★★★ I could listen to the young singers of The Rodolfus Choir all day without tiring or losing my appetite for their collective musicianship and accomplished choral artistry – Classic FM Magazine

These youthful singers [deliver] the sensitivity and precision you would expect of the next generation of choral scholars – The Observer

One can only marvel at the group’s remarkable collective skill and cohesion – Fanfare Magazine

 iTUNES  Spotify

The Rodolfus Choir
Ralph Allwood conductor 

RELEASE DATE: 26/04/2010
BARCODE: 635212019023

1. The Summer is Coming

2. Sweetest of Sweets

3. Sing Lullaby

4. One Thing Have I Desired

5. A Spotless Rose

6. Antiphon

7. Walking in the Snow

8. A Grace for 10 Downing Street

9. Here is the Little Door

10. God be in my head

11. Long, Long ago

12. Te Deum (Collegium Regale)

13. Jubilate (Collegium Regale)

14. Magnificat (Dallas Canticles)

15. Nunc Dimittis (Dallas Canticles)

16. A Hymn for St Cecilia

You may also like…

Go to Top