Cantus: Manifesto

This item will be released at a future date.

Now in its 25 th Anniversary season, the “engaging” (New Yorker) men’s vocal ensemble Cantus is widely known for its trademark warmth and blend, innovative programming and riveting performances of music ranging from the Renaissance to the 21st century. The Washington Post has hailed the Cantus sound as having both “exalting finesse” and “expressive power” and refers to the “spontaneous grace” of its music making. The Philadelphia Inquirer called the group nothing short of “exquisite.”

In a world filled with increasingly superficial connection between individuals and communities, humanity is yearning like never before to find a real sense of meaning in their lives. Manifesto takes a nuanced look at identity and relationship — with our friends, lovers, family and the divine. In keeping with Cantus’ commitment to the creation of new music for tenors, baritones and basses, the preponderance of the works on Manifesto were written specifically for Cantus, and all works are world premiere recordings.



Release date: June 2021

Catalogue number: SIGCD686

Barcode: 635212068618

1. Philia – Roger Treece
2. Luceat Eis – Timothy Takach
3. Tango with God – Ysaÿe Barnwell
4. Manifesto – David Lang
5. If I Profane – Libby Larsen
6. To My Brother – Joseph Gregorio
7. Gagòt – Sydney Guillaume

Song of Sky and Sea – Paul Rudoi
8. I. At Every Instant
9. II. The Infinite Dwelling
10. III. Two Falling Stars
11. IV. As One Sky

12. Psalm of the Soil – Sarah Kirkland Snider

Evening Stars – Dale Warland
13. I. The Falling Star
14. II. On A Winter Night
15. III. Stars Over Snow

Go to Top