Brahms: Symphonies No.1 and No.3


This new disc from the Philharmonia completes the collection of Brahms symphonies conducted by Christoph Von Dohnányi.

These live performances are about subtle shading and unexaggerated, probing thoughtfulness, bringing out the Classical rather than the Romantic side of Brahms – Classic FM Magazine

A very sensitive interpreter… the slow movement [of the First Symphony] is very lyrical with some effective instrumental dovetailing and plenty of light and shade, and the finale generates an impressive sense of joyous release – Gramophone

Both performances are well played by the Philharmonia from whom the conductor obtains a sound that is lean and muscular – MusicWeb International

Philharmonia Orchestra

Christoph von Dohnányi conductor

RELEASE DATE: 28/03/2011
BARCODE: 635212025024

Symphony No.1 in C minor, Op.68

1. I. Un poco sostenuto

2. II. Andante Sostenuto

3. III. Un poco allegretto e grazioso

4. IV. adagio – piu andante – allegro non troppo ma con brio

Symphony No.3 in F major, Op.90

5. I. Allegro con brio

6. II. Andante

7. III. Poco allegretto

8. IV. Allegro

You may also like…

Go to Top