Borodin: Requiem


Together with familiar music from Prince Igor, this CD features the world premiere recording of the unusual Requiem, (which is based on “Chopsticks”), and Glazunov’s orchestration of the charming Petite Suite.

Australian conductor Geoffrey Simon is resident in London and has appeared there with the London Philharmonic Orchestra, London Symphony Orchestra, Philharmonia Orchestra, Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, London Chamber Orchestra, London
Mozart Players and English Chamber Orchestra.

The Philharmonia Orchestra is a British orchestra based in London. It was founded in 1945 by Walter Legge, a classical music record producer for EMI. Among the conductors who worked with the orchestra in its early years were Richard Strauss, Wilhelm Furtwängler and Arturo Toscanini; of the Philharmonia’s younger conductors, the most important to its development was Herbert von Karajan, who though never formally chief conductor was closely associated with the orchestra in the late 1940s and early 1950s. The Philharmonia became widely regarded as the finest of London’s five symphony orchestras in its first two decades.


All downloads include booklets.


Philharmonia Orchestra

BBC Symphony Chorus

Geoffrey Simon

Release date: 18/09/20

Catalogue number: SIGCD2094

Barcode:  635212209424

1. Requiemfor Tenor, Men’s Chorus and Orchestra (arr. Stokowski)

Polovtsian Dances and Suite from Prince Igor – for Soprano, Chorus & Orchestra
2. I. Overture
3. II. Chorus of the Polovstian Maidens
4. III. Dance of the Polovtsian Maidens
5. IV. Polovtsian March
6. V. Polovtsian Dances

7. Nocturne from String Quartet No. 2for Violin and Orchestra

8. In the Steppes of Central Asia

Petite Suite
9. I. Au couvent
10. II. Mazurka rustique
11. III. Mazurka
12. IV. Rêverie
13. V. Sérénade
14. VI. Finale: Scherzo-Nocturne-Scherzo

Go to Top