Berlioz: Symphonie Fantastique


Since September 2008 Esa-Pekka Salonen has been Principal Conductor and Artistic Advisor of the Philharmonia Orchestra. In his first season in this role he devised and led City of Dreams, a nine-month exploration of the music and culture of Vienna between 1900 and 1935. The project, which presented the music of Mahler, Schoenberg, Zemlinsky and Berg in its social and historical context, travelled to 18 cities across Europe, culminating in October 2009 with semi-staged performances of Berg’s Wozzeck, with Simon Keenlyside in the title role.

The Philharmonia plays beautifully for Esa-Pekka Salonen. [Their] woodwind section particularly distinguishes itself, with eloquent, forlorn exchanges between the oboe and cor anglais in the ‘Scene aux Champs’ … a well-turned, thoughtful performance – International Record Review

Don’t ever be tempted to typecast Esa-Pekka Salonen as a hardline modernist … he reveals himself as a powerful Berliozian too – Classic FM Magazine

The Philharmonia gives its all in a performance that relishes the manic contrasts in Berlioz’s groundbreaking score, as well as emphasising its symphonic sweep – BBC Music Magazine

 iTUNES  Spotify

Philharmonia Orchestra

Esa-Pekka Salonen

RELEASE DATE: 29/03/2010
BARCODE: 635212019320

Symphonie Fantastique (An Episode in the Life of an Artist), Op.14

1. Rêveries, Passions: Largo – Allegro agitato

2. Un bal: Valse allegro non troppo

3. Scène aux champs: Adagio

4. Marche au supplice: Allegretto non troppo

5. Songe d’un nuit du Sabbat: Larghetto – Allegro – Ronde du Sabbat

6. Overture, Leonore No.2, Op.72b

You may also like…

Go to Top