Berlioz: Grande Messe des Morts


This is the first in a new series of releases from the world-renowned conductor Paul McCreesh and his Gabrieli Consort. Recorded in Poland as part of the Wratislava Cantans Festival (of which McCreesh is artistic director) this staggering performance of Berlioz’s ‘Grand Mass for the Dead’ is produced by a force of over 400 performers – drawn from the Gabrieli Consort and Players, the Wroclaw Philharmonic Orchestra and Choir and students from Chetham’s School of Music. Future releases with McCreesh will include Mendelssohn’s Elijah, Haydn’s The Seasons, Britten’s War Requiem and a re-recording of their famed disc ‘A Venetian Coronation’.

Founded in 1982 by Artistic Director Paul McCreesh, Gabrieli Consort & Players are worldrenowned interpreters of great choral and instrumental repertoire, spanning from the renaissance to the present day. Their performances encompass virtuosic a cappella programmes, mould-breaking reconstructions of music for historical events, and major works from the oratorio tradition. They are regular visitors to the world’s most prestigious concert halls and festivals and have built a large and distinguished discography.

Anyone in search of a transformative listening experience, Berlioz agnostics among them, should make this release a priority purchase – Classic FM Magazine

The contrapuntal intricacy of Berlioz’s choral writing is done with precision and firm accents, the haunted atmosphere of the ‘Quid sum miser’ interpreted with restrained, eloquently inflected choral singing and poignant instrumental interjections – Gramophone

Berlioz’s 1837 Grande Messe has rarely sounded so thrilling or transparent – The Independent on Sunday


Paul McCreesh

Ensemble Wroclaw
Gabrieli Consort and Players

RELEASE DATE: 03/10/2011
BARCODE: 635212028025

1. Requiem et Kyrie

2. Dies Irae

3. Quid sum miser

4. Rex tremendae

5. Quaerens me

6. Lacrimosa

7. Offertorium

8. Hostias

9. Sanctus

10. Agnus Dei

You may also like…

Go to Top