Bax & Chung Piano Duo


Stavinsky’s Pétrouchka was originally arranged for four-hands by the composer as a rehearsal score for the Ballet Russes production of the same name, but in this stripped-down it brings Stravinsky’s melodic, rhythmic and harmonic inventiveness to the fore.  Brahms’s 16 Waltzes Op.39 are an enchanting collection of Romantic miniatures that simultaneously nod to the musical lineage of the composer’s home in Vienna whilst asserting his own flair and individuality. The final four tangos by Piazzolla are a full of Argentine flair and vigour, and were arranged especially for this recording by Bax & Chung.

Bax and Chung internalise [Piazzolla’s] rhythmic syntax… Superb annotations and engineering make the Bax & Chung duo debut CD all the more auspicious – Gramophone

Technically superb and perfectly balanced – Yorkshire Post

 iTUNES  Spotify

Alessio Bax

Lucille Chung

RELEASE DATE: 09/12/2013
BARCODE: 635212036525


Igor Stravinsky

1. First Tableau: The Shrove-Tide Fair

2. First Tableau: Russian Dance

3. Second Tableau: Petrouchka’s Cell

4. Third Tableau: The Moor’s Cell

5. Fourth Tableau: The Shrove-Tide Fair (evening)

16 Waltzes, Op. 39

Johannes Brahms

6. No. 1 in B major (Tempo giusto)

7. No. 2 in E major

8. No. 3 in G-sharp minor

9. No. 4 in E minor (Poco sostenuto)

10. No. 5 in E major

11. No. 6 in C-sharp major (Vivace)

12. No. 7 in C-sharp minor (Poco piu andante)

13. No. 8 in B-flat major

14. No. 9 in D minor

15. No. 10 in G major

16. No. 11 in B minor

17. No. 12 in E major

18. No. 13 in C major

19. No. 14 in A minor

20. No. 15 in A major

21. No.16 in D minor

22. Lo que vendra Astor Piazzolla, arr. Bax & Chung

23. Milonga del Angel Astor Piazzolla, arr. Bax & Chung

24. Tango No. 2 Astor Piazzolla, arr. Bax & Chung

25. Libertango Astor Piazzolla, arr. Bax & Chung

You may also like…

Go to Top