Bartok: Duke Bluebeard’s Castle


An unforgettable live-concert recording, selected from the Philharmonia Orchestra and Esa-Pekka Salonen’s season of works by Béla Bartók – ‘Infernal Dance.’

As soon as Salonen cues the score’s reptilian first bars, just after the one-minute mark, you can sense both a tightening of tension and Salonen’s natural grasp of Bartok’s richly suggestive tone-poetry – Gramophone

As dazzling as you always hope it will be… A truly atmospheric recording that makes it easy to believe you’re in the dark bowels of a castle – BBC Radio 3 Record Review

The conclusion of the opera is riveting, vocally and instrumentally, with the live performance giving a real edge to the drama … for Esa-Pekka Salonen and the Philharmonic on top form this is fantastic – Planet Hugill

This 2011 performance of Bartok’s score is sure to become a classic  … The hour passes like a single breath – Words and Music


 iTUNES  Spotify

Esa-Pekka Salonen conductor

RELEASE DATE: 10/03/2014
BARCODE: 635212037225

1. Prologue and Introduction

2. First Door: Bluebeard’s Torture Chamber

3. Second Door: The Armoury

4. Third Door: The Treasure Room

5. Fourth Door: The Garden

6. Fifth Door: Bluebeard’s Vast & Beautiful Kingdom

7. Sixth Door: The Lake of Tears

8. Seventh Door: Bluebeard’s Wives

You may also like…

Go to Top