Ash Wednesday


Ash Wednesday marks the start of Lent, the forty-day period of fasting and penitence which precedes Easter. Ashes are placed on worshippers’ foreheads in the shape of a cross, as a sign of repentance. Evensong on this day has been an especially important service in the liturgical year at St John’s; the BBC started transmitting it live in 1972. For several decades the service was broadcast annually; more recently it has been biennial. 2019 was a live broadcast year, however the recording on this release uses our own microphones, permanently installed in St John’s College Chapel for webcasting, rather than those of the BBC.

This recording will be released around the same time that the Dean of St John’s, Mark Oakley, releases a book on George Herbert’s poems, called My Sour Sweet Days. The book and the recording go well in tandem, as in the Deans first sermon at St. John’s, he said “I believe that when we walk here (The Chapel), we walk into a poem. The liturgy is poetry in motion, and we sometimes fail to understand its density of suggestion, the eavesdropping on the soul, the sensitive state of consciousness that its poetry can prompt.”


All downloads include booklets.

  • High-Res FLAC
  • Standard FLAC
  • CD
  • MP3
 iTUNES  Spotify

The Choir of St. John’s College, Cambridge

Andrew Nethsingha

Release date: 21/02/20

Catalogue number: SIGCD605

Barcode: 635212060520

1. The Preces William Byrd (c. 1539-1623)
2. Miserere mei, Deus Gregorio Allegri (1582 – 1652)
3. The First Lesson Isaiah 1 vv. 10-18
4. Magnificat (The Short Service) Thomas Weelkes (c. 1576-1623)
5. The Second Lesson Luke 15 vv. 11-end
6. Nunc Dimittis (The Short Service) Thomas Weelkes
7. The Apostles’ Creed
8. The Responses Williams Byrd
9. Ne irascaris, Domine William Byrd
10. The Prayers
11. Prelude in E Minor, BWV 548i Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

You may also like…