Antonio Vivaldi: Violin Sonatas – 12 Sonatas, Op 2


Traditionally known as the composer of the Four Seasons and the Gloria, the work of Cecilia Bartoli has shown that lesser-known works of the red priest from Venice can become hit records too.

Now Signum Records are delighted to introduce a two disc set on period instruments of the 12 Violin Sonatas, Opus 2. Cordaria features internationally-renowned baroque violinist Walter Reiter, “an artist who transcends authenticity to enter the universal” as one critic wrote, and an eminent continuo team of harpsichord, cello and theorbo.

Written in 1708, just before the ‘L’estro armonico’ concertos, these sonatas contain all the passion and the virtuosity, all the lyricism and emotion, which have made the concertos so eternally popular. In the words of the great Vivaldi scholar Michael Talbot, “Op. 2 is fully Vivaldian and certainly deserves to take its place among his other masterworks.”

[Reiter] shows himself to be a stylish, no-nonsense player, who in slower movements mixes a clean often sweetly singing line with tasteful ornamentation which refuses to draw undue attention to itself, and who in faster ones shows real virtuosity and fire – Gramophone



Walter Reiter with Cordaria

RELEASE DATE: 04/05/2000
BARCODE: 635212001424


Sonata no. 1

1. Preludio Andante

2. Giga Allegro

3. Sarabanda Largo

4. Corrente Allegro

Sonata no. 2

5. Preludio a Capriccio Presto

6. Presto

7. Corrente Allegro

8. Adagio

9. Giga allegro

Sonata no. 3

10. Preludio Andante

11. Corrente Allegro

12. Adagio

13. Giga Allegro

Sonata no. 4

14. Andante

15. Allemanda Allegro

16. Sarabande Andante

17. Corrente Presto

Sonata no. 5

18. Preludio Andante

19. Corrente Allegro

20. Giga Presto

Sonata no. 6

21. Preludio Andante

22. Allemanda Presto

23. Giga Allegro


Sonata no. 7

1. Preludio Andante

2. Allemanda Allegro

3. Corrente Allegro

Sonata no. 8

4. Preludio Largo

5. Giga Presto

6. Corrente Allegro

Sonata no. 9

7. Preludio Andante

8. Cappriccio Allegro

9. Giga Allegro

10. Gavotta Presto

Sonata no. 10

11. Preludio Largo

12. Allemanda Allegro

13. Giga Allegro

Sonata no. 11

14. Preludio Andante

15. Fantasia Presto

16. Gavotta Allegro

Sonata no. 12

17. Preludio Largo

18. Cappriccio Presto

19. Grave

20. Allemanda Allegro

You may also like…

Go to Top