Alessio Bax: Rachmaninov


In his second solo piano recital disc for Signum, this release further demonstrates Alessio Bax’s dazzling skill and flair in performance and interpretation – this time with Rachmaninov’s piano works. The programme is centered around the Preludes op.23, but takes in a broad selection of his other studies, etudes, melodies and transcriptions – in performance, Bax describes the programme as being a collection of ‘visions and landscapes.’

In this homage to Rachmaninov, the pianist brings rare sensitivity to 23 Preludes, two teenage compositions, two very late ones, and Bax’s own arrangement of the Vocalise. The qualities he admires in Rachmaninov’s playing – lack of ego and a golden tone – are here in abundance – The Independent

With this intricate and enterprising recital the wondrously gifted Alessio Bax fulfils, in his own words, a long-cherished dream – Gramophone

One of the most intelligent and engrossing Rachmaninov recitals of recent years. The varied repertoire, consistently richly cushioned sound and an innate kinship with Rachmaninov’s idiom makes this a highly rewarding release – Classic FM Magazine

There’s some really fine playing in this collection – Bax’s masterful technique serves an intensely musical intuition – The Observer

Alessio Bax’s disc is intelligent and enchanting – Musical Pointers

 iTUNES  Spotify

Alessio Bax piano

RELEASE DATE: 30/05/2011
BARCODE: 635212026427

Preludes Op. 23

1. No. 1 in F sharp minor: Largo

2. No. 2 in B flat major: Maestoso

3. No. 3 in D minor: Tempo di minuetto

4. No. 4 in D major: Andante cantabile

5. No. 5 in G minor: Alla marcia

6. No. 6 in E flat major: Andante

7. No. 7 in C minor: Allegro

8. No. 8 in C minor: Allegro vivace

9. No. 9 in E flat minor: Presto

10. No. 10 in G flat major: Largo

11. Prelude in F major, Op. 2

12. Canon in D minor 

13. Prelude in E flat minor 

14. Melodie in E major 

You may also like…