Norwegian boy-soprano Aksel Rykkvin has quickly built a reputation as a rare talent, combining an intelligent musicality with a beautifully resonant treble voice. On his debut recording he is accompanied by The Orchestra of the Age on Enlightenment under Nigel Short (leader of award-winning chamber choir Tenebrae), in a selection of arias by Mozart, Handel and JS Bach. Many of the arias performed are considered too technically demanding for boy singers in the present day – in particular Mozart’s Exsultate Jubilate which was composed for the castrato Venunzio Rauzzini, and several of Bach’s Cantatas which were written at a time when singers often maintained their treble voices until the ages of 16 or 17.




Aksel Rykkvin treble

Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment
Nigel Short conductor

Release date:2nd Sep 2016
Order code:SIGCD435
Barcode: 635212043523

Financial Times

Freakishly good, with a musical assurance and richness of tone that are almost superhuman.

BBC Music Magazine

Widely praised for his richness of tone and instinctive, innate musicality.

Classic FM

It’s a remarkable performance – pure, technically perfect and hauntingly beautiful

Cathedral Music Magazine

This is totally extraordinary. For the sheer joy in performing, this CD would be hard to beat.

  1. Jauchzet Gott in allen Landen, BWV 51: Jauchzet Gott in allen Landen – Johann Sebastian Bach – 4:14
  2. Also hat Gott die Welt geliebt, BWV 68: Mein gl?ubiges Herze – Johann Sebastian Bach – 3:44
  3. Joshua, HWV 64: Happy, oh thrice happy we – George Frideric Handel – 3:00
  4. Alcina, HWV 34: Chi m’insegna il caro padre? – George Frideric Handel – 3:11
  5. Alcina, HWV 34: Barbara! io ben lo so – George Frideric Handel – 3:01
  6. Rinaldo, HWV 7: Lascia ch’io pianga – George Frideric Handel – 4:14
  7. St. John Passion, BWV 245: Ich folge Dir gleichfalls – Johann Sebastian Bach – 3:25
  8. Ode for the Birthday of Queen Anne, HWV 74: Eternal Source of Light Divine – George Frideric Handel – 3:17
  9. Bist du bei mir, BWV 508 – Johann Sebastian Bach – 2:18
  10. Messiah, HWV 56: How beautiful are the feet of Him that bringeth glad tidings of salvation – George Frideric Handel – 2:13
  11. Messiah, HWV 56: Thou art gone up on high – George Frideric Handel – 2:58
  12. Samson, HWV 57: Let the bright Seraphim in burning row – George Frideric Handel – 5:11
  13. Magnificat in D Major, BWV 243: Quia Respexit – Johann Sebastian Bach – 2:44
  14. Der zufriedengestellte ?olus, Zerrei?et, zersprenget, zertr?mmert die Gruft, BWV 205: Angenehmer Zephyrus – Johann Sebastian Bach – 4:12
  15. Joshua, HWV 64: Oh! Had I Jubal’s lyre – George Frideric Handel – 2:44
  16. Le nozze di Figaro, K. 492: Voi, che sapete che cosa e amor – Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – 2:46
  17. Marriage of Figaro, K. 492: Aria: Non so pi? cosa son, cosa faccio – Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – 2:39
  18. Exsultate jubilate, K. 165: Alleluia – Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – 2:28