A Song of Farewell: Music of Mourning & Consolation


Continuing Signum’s new partnership with Paul McCreesh and the Gabrieli Consort following the triumphant success of Berlioz’s Grande Messe des Morts (SIGCD280), their latest release is a recording of the groups renowned a cappella programme of music for mourning and consolation. This is a beautifully poignant programme of British choral music, including works by composers as diverse as Morley and Dove, Sheppard and Walton and featuring Howells’ sublime Requiem.

An excellent disc – Gramophone

Gorgeously melancholic British funeral music for unaccompanied choir… beautifully sung by Paul McCreesh’s Gabrieli Consort – The Times

This album [serves] a vital reminder that there is more depth of feeling, emotional power and intellectual stimulation to the art of music-making than we can ever hope to truly understand. All we can do is applaud – Classic FM Magazine
 iTUNES  Spotify

Gabrilei Consort

Paul McCreesh

RELEASE DATE: 05/03/2012
BARCODE: 635212028124

1. Drop, drop, slow tears Orlando Gibbons

2. A Litany: Drop, drop, slow tears William Walton

3. Christe, qui lux es et dies Robert White 

4. A child’s prayer James MacMillan

5. In manus tuas (I) John Sheppard

6. Into thy hands Jonathan Dove

7. Funeral sentences Thomas Morley 

8. They are at rest Edward Elgar 


Herbert Howells 

9. I. Salvator mundi

10. II. The Lord is my shepherd

11. III. Requiem aeternam

12. IV. I will lift up mine eyes unto the hills

13. V. Requiem aeternam (2)

14. VI. I heard a voice from heaven

15. Lord, let me know mine end (from Songs of Farewell) C. H. H. Parry 

Go to Top