Signum’s second disc with the Choir of the Queen’s College Oxford is centred around the concept of ‘relevation’, both divine revelation (particularly the apocalyptic visions of the Book of Revelation) and revelatory visions of earth and heaven. The bulk of the pieces on the recording are inspired by the extraordinary visions of John, the writer of the Book of Revelation, describing the ravaging of the world through divine judgement, the battles between good and evil, and the world’s eventual remaking as ‘a new heaven and a new earth’ in which death and suffering are no more. The disc features three new commissions, by Phillip Cooke, Toby Young and Marco Galvani, who was a final-year student at Queen’s at the time of recording.

 iTUNES  Spotify

Choir of The Queen’s College

Oxford Owen Rees director

RELEASE DATE: 03/03/2017
BARCODE: 635212047521

1. Alpha and Omega James MacMillan

2. Bring Us, O Lord God William Harris

3. Stetit angelus Rihards Dubra

4. And I saw a new heaven Edgar Bainton

5. Ecce venio cito Gabriel Jackson

6. I know that my Redeemer liveth Cecilia McDowall

7. Seven Trumpets Toby Young

8. Bring Us, O Lord God James MacMillan

9. Et vidi angelum Marco Galvani

10. Faire is the heaven William Harris

11. Alleluia, Amen Kenneth Leighton

12. Hymn to the Creator of Light John Rutter

13. The World on Fire Phillip Cooke

14. The Seventh Angel David Bednall

You may also like…

Go to Top