24 Lies Per Second


An exhilarating new album of contemporary music shaped by the collaborative musical collective Powerplant, featuring performances from percussionist Joby Burgess in collaboration with sound designer Matthew Fairclough and visual artist Kathy Hinde.

24 Lies Per Second combines works by contemporary British composers – Graham Fitkin, Max de Wardener and Dominic Murcott – with two pieces by compositional icons Conlon Nancarrow and Steve Reich, including the Reich work My Name Is (for audience and tape recorder) which has never before been released commercially.
This release includes a bonus CD Plus video performance of Max de Wardener’s Im Dorfe, which can be viewed when playing the CD on a PC.

What people are saying

"fascinating … [Joby Burgess] is a 21st Century explorer at the edge … Riveting !" Musical Pointers, November 2012


Powerplant – Joby Burgess, percussion / electronics

Matthew Fairclough, sound design – Kathy Hinde, visuals

Release date:5th Nov 2012
Order code:SIGCD313
Barcode: 635212031322

November 2012

…  fascinating but more esoteric, each item’s intention and techniques well explained in Joby’s notes – he is a 21st C explorer at the edge. Do try to see Joby in action on your computer in the staged Im Dorfe video track, illustrated above (needs Quicktime 7 or later). Riveting!

Peter Grahame Woolf, Musical Pointers

  1. Chain of Command – Graham Fitkin – 12.21
  2. The Boom and The Bap – Matthew Fairclough – 5.57
  3. 24 Lies Per Second – Max de Wardener – 5.22
  4. Im Dorfe – Max de Wardener – 4.50
  5. White Ribbon – Max de Wardener – 3.26
  6. Until My Blood is Pure – Max de Wardener – 6.33
  7. Piece for Tape (For Percussion) – Conlon Nancarrow – 3.15
  8. Armed Response Unit – Dominic Murcott – 8.14
  9. My Name Is – Steve Reich – 10.08