21st Century Bach, Vol.1


The indisputable master of Baroque music, Johann Sebastian Bach’s reputation is greater now than ever. Now his entire organ works are to be made available on DVD for the first time through the release of the highly-acclaimed BBC2 television series, 21st-Century Bach. Played by the organist of York Minster, John Scott Whiteley, one of the world’s most accomplished Bach interpreters. This disc includes some of Bach’s greatest organ works. Bonus features include interviews with Harvard University Professor Christoph Wolff, and commentaries by the performer.
Includes behind the scenes documentary
Filmed and Recorded on location in Amorbach Abbey and Stadtkirche Waltershausen
DVD Region 0 – PAL or NTSC Format
Duration: 162 mins



What people are saying

“Actually being able to see the kinds of locations and instruments Bach would have used creates a closer connection and greater understanding of the kind of music he wrote for those environments. Just seeing the texture of the wood in the keys is full of tactile interest. Very fine playing and highly creative production values both sonic and visual.” Musicweb International
“Throughout one is aware of John Scott Whiteley’s complete technical control of interpretative issues, and his ability to communicate his readings with great skill … Musically stunning and visually having the ability to cushion and arrest in equal measure, this project remains – by virtue of the sheer vividness of its imagination and execution – entirely distinctive and compelling.” The Consort, Summer 2010

John Scott Whiteley  organ

Release date:29th Jun 2009
Order code:SIGDVD003
Barcode: 635212000397

  1. ‘Great’ Prelude and fugue in B minor (BWV 544) – J.S. Bach –
  2. Sonata II (BWV 526) – J.S. Bach –
  3. ‘Great’ Prelude and fugue in A minor (BWV 543) – J.S. Bach –
  4. Clavier-?bung III: Vater unser im Himmelreich (BWV 682) – J.S. Bach –
  5. Sch?bler Chor?le: Wo soll ich fliehen hin? (BWV 646) and Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme (BWV 645) – J.S. Bach –
  6. Orgel-B?chlein: Wer nur den lieben Gott l?sst walten (BWV 642), Alle Menschen m?ssen sterben (BWV 643), Ach wie nichtig, ach wie fl?chtig (BWV 644), In dich hab ich gehoffet, Herr (BWV 640) – J.S. Bach –
  7. Achtzehn Chor?le: Von Gott will ich nicht lassen (BWV 658) – J.S. Bach –
  8. ‘Weimar’ Prelude and fugue in C major (BWV 545) – J.S. Bach –
  9. Sonata I (BWV 525) – J.S. Bach –
  10. Partite diverse: Sei gegr?sset Jesu g?tig (BWV 768) – J.S. Bach –
  11. Achtzehn Chor?le: Allein Gott in der H?h sei Ehr- Adagio (BWV 662) – J.S. Bach –
  12. Orgel-B?chlein: Christ lag in Todesbanden (BWV 625), Jesus Christus, unser Heiland (BWV 626) Erstanden ist der heil’ge Christ (BWV 628), Erschienen ist der herrliche Tag (BWV 629) – J.S. Bach –