1917: Works for Violin & Piano


Rising-star violinist Tamsin Waley-Cohen is joined by the eminent pianist-composer Huw Watkins in a diverse programme of works that were all influenced in different ways by the era in which they were composed. The works were conceived at four very different points in the composer’s lives – Debussy, at the end of his life, Respighi in the first flush of fame, Elgar, although not old, enjoying his last creative period, and Sibelius in his prime composing prolifically.

These four contrasting works were all composed as the Great War drew to a close, but none of them specifically attempts to conjure up images of the conflict, nor act as any kind of programmatic memorial to its victims. Rather, these works are all conceived as absolute music, albeit, in the case of the Elgar and Debussy sonatas, imbued with a melancholy regret that may have been a reflection of those tragic four years.

Young Talent to Watch: Great playing from the very talented Tamsin Waley-Cohen. This really highlights the talent of the next generation of virtuosi – Classic FM

A wonderfully subtle, introspective and touching performance – The Guardian

 iTUNES  Spotify

Tamsin Waley-Cohen violin

Huw Watkins piano

RELEASE DATE: 07/04/2014
BARCODE: 635212037621


Violin Sonata in G minor, L.140

Claude Debussy

1. I. Allegro vivo

2. II. Intermede: Fantastique et leger

3. III. Finale: Tres anime

Violin Sonata in B minor, P.110

Ottorino Respighi

4. I. Moderato

5. II. Andante espressivo

6. III. Passacaglia: Allegro moderato ma energico


Five Pieces for Violin & Piano, Op.81

Jean Sibelius

1. I. Mazurka

2. II. Rondino – allegretto grazioso

3. III. Valse

4. IV. Aubade

5. V. Menuetto

Violin Sonata in E minor, Op.82

Edward Elgar

6. I. Allegro: risoluto

7. II. Romance

8. III. Allegro non troppo

You may also like…

Go to Top