The Choir of St John’s College, Cambridge return to disc with three 20th Century European masterpieces: Poulenc’s Mass in G Major (last recorded by the choir over 40 years ago under the iconic George Guest), Kodály’s Missa Brevis, and Janáček’s Otčenáš (Our Father). All works make use of highly distinctive musical languages, yet all three are tonal and highly accessible.

This disc follows the choir’s debut release of works by Jonathan Harvey Deo (SIGCD456), which was awarded the choral prize at the 2017 BBC Music Magazine Awards.

★★★★★ The choir sing with their justly famed blend and perfect intonation… An essential disc – Choir and Organ

★★★★There is a transparency, delicacy and clarity to the textures on this disc… there is a wonderful edge to the more jagged harmonies. There is lightness and control, but steel too in the Sanctus & Benedictus, and the beautiful thread of solo treble at the opening of the Agnus Dei leads to a magical ending – Planet Hugill

The Choir captures the other-wordly atmosphere… these well-recorded performances are certainly recommendable – BBC Music Magazine

These compelling accounts come highly recommended – Northern Echo

 iTUNES  Spotify

The Choir of St John’s College, Cambridge

Andrew Nethsingha, director


Release date: 15th September 2017
Order code: SIGCD489
Barcode: 635212048024

Track Listing

Mass in G, FP 89

  1. 1  I. Kyrie
  2. 2  II. Gloria
  3. 3  III. Sanctus
  4. 4  IV. Benedictus
  5. 5  V. Agnus Dei

Missa Brevis

  1. 6  I. Introitus
  2. 7  II. Kyrie
  3. 8  III. Gloria
  4. 9  IV. Credo
  5. 10  V. Sanctus
  6. 11  VI. Benedictus
  7. 12  VII. Agnus Dei
  8. 13  VIII. Ite, Missa Est

Otčenáš, JW IV/29

  1. 14  I. Otce náš
  2. 15  II. Bud’ vule tvá
  3. 16  III. Chléb náš
  4. 17  IV. A odpusť nám
  5. 18  V. Neuvod’ nás