The Choir of St John’s College Cambridge launch their new series of recordings with Signum by exploring the close connections between the college and celebrated British composer Jonathan Harvey (1939-2012), in a disc of works for choir and organ. Harvey’s music has influenced a generation of composers, described by The Guardian’s Tom Service as being “at once vividly contemporary and timeless”. The Choir’s director Andrew Nethsingha reflects on his own experiences and work with the Jonathan Harvey in CD’s programme note, in particular as the choir collaborated on what would be Jonathan Harvey’s final work for the choir, The Annunciation (2011).


Read an interview with The Choir’s director Andrew Nethsingha at Presto Classical!



What people are saying

*GRAMOPHONE EDITORS CHOICE*"This recording is outstanding on every count: remarkable and under-performed repertoire, beautifully performed and recorded" – Gramophone, June 2016

5* – "On this disc Andrew Nethsingha and his choir do something remarkable…these are performances to treasure, of great intensity and remarkable power." – Planet Hugill, May 2016

5* – "The Choir of St John’s tackles all with confidence and clarity." – The Observer, May 2016

4* – "Varied and inspiring..ambition has paid off handsomely." – Financial Times, May 2016

"Nethsingha and his choir give us an exploration of Harvey’s church music that shows off the multifarious brilliance of both the composer and the choir…captured with remarkable distinction by the Signum engineers… a most auspicious beginning to what, I hope, will be a very fruitful working relationship." MusicWeb International, June 2016

5* "Nethsingha and his St John’s forces have this often-challenging repertoire well under control, delivering characterful yet authoritative performances of which they can be justly proud…warmly recommended." – Choir & Organ, June 2016

The Choir of St John’s College
Cambridge Edward Picton-Turbervill organ
Andrew Nethsingha director

Release date:20th Apr 2016
Order code:SIGCD456
Barcode: 635212045626

  1. I Love the Lord – Jonathan Harvey – 6.02
  2. Magnificat – Jonathan Harvey – 7.51
  3. Nunc Dimittis – Jonathan Harvey – 5.12
  4. Toccata for Organ and Tape – Jonathan Harvey – 5.27
  5. Come Holy Ghost – Jonathan Harvey – 7.27
  6. Praise ye the Lord – Jonathan Harvey – 4.08
  7. Missa Brevis: Kyrie – Jonathan Harvey – 2.48
  8. Missa Brevis: Gloria – Jonathan Harvey – 3.08
  9. Missa Brevis: Sanctus & Benedictus – Jonathan Harvey – 2.57
  10. Missa Brevis: Agnus Dei – Jonathan Harvey – 2.58
  11. The Royal Banners Forward Go – Jonathan Harvey – 3.49
  12. Laus Deo – Jonathan Harvey – 4.07
  13. The Annunciation – Jonathan Harvey – 4.28