Product Catalogue

Follow Us


PayPal Acceptance Mark
Jonathan Dove: For an Unknown Soldier

This product is listed in

» November 2016

Jonathan Dove: For an Unknown Soldier

An Airmail Letter from Mozart

 London Mozart Players
 Melvyn Tan
 Nicky Spence

 For An Unknown Soldier is a cantata of remembrance to mark the centenary of the First World War. Commissioned by the London Mozart Players, Jonathan Dove’s poignant work combines the words of war poets such as Wilfred Owen, William Noel Hodgson & Isaac Rosenberg with choral performances from tenor Nicky Spence, the Oxford Bach Choir and Portsmouth Grammar School Chamber Choir.

It is paired with the ensemble’s performance of Dove’s An Airmail Letter from Mozart, directed from the piano by Melvyn Tan.




London Mozart Players

Melvyn Tan Piano
Nicky Spence Tenor
Portsmouth Grammar School Chamber Choir
Oxford Bach Choir
Nicholas Cleobury Conductor



Release date: 4th Nov 2016
Order code: SIGCD452
Barcode: 635212045220

1.An Airmail Letter from Mozart: Theme & Variation IJonathan Dove3.17
2.An Airmail Letter from Mozart: Variations II & IIIJonathan Dove3.53
3.An Airmail Letter from Mozart: Variation IVJonathan Dove2.59
4.An Airmail Letter from Mozart: Variations V, VI, VII, VIIIJonathan Dove4.54
5.For An Unknown Soldier: 1914Jonathan Dove4.09
6.For An Unknown Soldier: The Poets are WaitingJonathan Dove1.50
7.For An Unknown Soldier: The CallJonathan Dove3.57
8.For An Unknown Soldier: Women at Munition MakingJonathan Dove5.03
9.For An Unknown Soldier: Before ActionJonathan Dove6.54
10.For An Unknown Soldier: Dead Man's DumpJonathan Dove12.09
11.For An Unknown Soldier: To His LoveJonathan Dove4.38
12.For An Unknown Soldier: The Wind on the DownsJonathan Dove5.37
13.For An Unknown Soldier: An Imperial ElegyJonathan Dove5.59