Handel at Vauxhall, Vol.1

This product is listed in

» New Releases
» March 2016

Handel at Vauxhall, Vol.1

 Bridget Cunningham
 London Early Opera
 Sophie Bevan

London Early Opera follow up their debut release (Handel in Italy, Vol. 1) with a treasure trove of music by George Frideric Handel (as well as his contemporaries Thomas Arne and John Hebden) centered on the Vauxhall Pleasure Gardens – a carnival of music and entertainments that entertained visitors for nearly 200 years. The booklet notes features images and expert commentaries of the Vauxhall Gardens by author David E. Coke and conductor and musicologist Bridget Cunningham. 

Praise for the series: 4*, 5* ‘if all six [discs] are put together with the same care as these two, and directed with the same verve and vigour, this will be a series well worth collecting’ - Early Music Today

Read an interview with London Early Opera conductor and musicologist Bridget Cunningham at Presto Classical!





What people are saying



"fine entertainment." BBC Radio 3 Record Review, March 2016

"A pleasant listen all round." The Scotsman, March 2016

"an attractive potpourri...bright, lively sound." The Observer, April 2016

"The highlights include a sprightly organ concerto (Op.4 No.2 with Daniel Moult), the gloriously lugubrious Dead March from Saul, and vocal items that range from slightly yokelish to sophisticatedly pastoral." The Irish Times, April 2016

"A perfectly sensible and enjoyable approach to imagining what a typical night at Vauxhall might have sounded like. There is a charming ebba and flow to this hypothetical entertainment." Gramophone, April 2016

"Winning and Engaging Performances." Planet Hugill, April 2016

"This is light entertainment, most decorously sung and played by London Early Opera, conducted by Bridget Cunningham." Financial Times, May 2016

"An enjoyable and well-thought-out idea for a disc." Early Music Review, May 2016

"a treasure trove...highly recommended." - The Northern Echo, June 2016

"Bridget Cunningham's re-imagining of the first part of a typical evening's entertainment puts George Frideric centrestage, and sets the scene delectably with the flirtatious bustle of the Sinfonia to Acis and Galatea." BBC Music Magazine, September 2016

London Early Opera

Bridget Cunningham conductor
Daniel Moult organ
Sophie Bevan
Eleanor Dennis
Kirsty Hopkins
Charles MacDougall
Greg Tassell
Benjamin Bevan

Release date: 4th Mar 2016
Order code: SIGCD428
Barcode: 635212042823

1.Acis and Galatea, HWV 49: SinfoniaGeorge Frideric Handel3.36
2.Organ Improvisation in the style of John Worgan and HandelDaniel Moult0.59
3.Organ Concerto Op. 4 No. 2 in B flat Major, HWV 290: I. Sinfonia: A tempo ordinario e staccatoGeorge Frideric Handel0.49
4.Organ Concerto Op. 4 No. 2 in B flat Major, HWV 290: II. AllegroGeorge Frideric Handel4.56
5.Organ Concerto Op. 4 No. 2 in B flat Major, HWV 290: III. Adagio e staccatoGeorge Frideric Handel0.48
6.Organ Concerto Op. 4 No. 2 in B flat Major, HWV 290: IV. Allegro ma non prestoGeorge Frideric Handel3.07
7.Acis and Galatea, HWV 49: Ye verdant plains and woody mountainsGeorge Frideric Handel0.42
8.Acis and Galatea, HWV 49: Hush, ye pretty warbling choir!George Frideric Handel5.43
9.Colin and Phoebe: A PastoralThomas Arne3.34
10.Saul, HWV 53: Dead MarchGeorge Frideric Handel3.06
11.The AdviceGeorge Frideric Handel2.10
12.The Melancholy Nymph, HWV 228 No. 19George Frideric Handel3.35
13.Concerto for Strings and Basso Continuo No 1 in A Major: I. AdagioJohn Hebden1.59
14.Concerto for Strings and Basso Continuo No 1 in A Major: II. FugaJohn Hebden1.55
15.Concerto for Strings and Basso Continuo No 1 in A Major: III. LargoJohn Hebden1.33
16.Concerto for Strings and Basso Continuo No 1 in A Major: IV. AllegroJohn Hebden3.33
17.L?Allegro, il Penseroso ed il Moderato, HWV 55: As steals the morn upon the nightGeorge Frideric Handel6.12